Renounce Cultism, Get Confirmed, State Assembly Orders Appointees

The Speaker of the Cross River State House of Assembly (CRSHA), Rt. Hon. Eteng Jonah Williams has directed all political appointees in the State to denounce cultism openly before their appointment into public service.

Eteng stated this on the floor of the State House of Assembly while confirming the 3 Commissioner Nominees sent in by the State Governor, Sen. Ben Ayade.

The Speaker, who expressed the Assembly’s commitment to zero tolerance for cultism further stated, “Members have unanimously agreed that all political appointees henceforth must denounce cultism openly before their appointment into public service”.

He urged the new commissioners to work closely with the House of Assembly members to help move the state forward.

He said that members unanimously agreed that all the nominees be confirmed, and advised the nominees to collaborate with the House to facilitate the upliftment of the State.

Those confirmed are Mr. Asuquo Ekpeyong Jnr, immediate past Commissioner for Finance, Mr Peter Akam Egba, former Commissioner for Commerce and Industries and Barrister Tanko Ashang.

The confirmation is sequel to a correspondence from the Governor, in line with section 192(2) of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

The House, which dissolved into the Committee of the Whole subjected the nominees to rigorous screening, asking questions bothering on how they intend to assist the State Government deliver the gains of democracy to the Citizenry.

The motion for confirmation was subsequently moved by the Leader, Rt. Hon. Peter Odey and seconded by the Deputy Leader, Rt. Hon. Fred Osim.



Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password