No controversy about 2017 budget, says Saraki

Senate President, Dr. Olusola Saraki, yesterday, said that contrary to agitation by many Nigerians concerning the 2017 budget, there was no controversy over it.

He said this shortly after the lying-in-state organised for the former Governor of Western Region, Maj. Gen. Robert Adeyinka Adebayo, at the Parliament Building, Secretariat, Ibadan, where many dignitaries paid glowing tributes to the former Military Governor.

According to Saraki, as far as the Senate was concerned, all the necessary things that were expected of them at the National Assembly had been done.

He advised all Nigerians, especially youths to emulate the exemplary legacies left behind by late Adebayo as an enviable leader.

On the life and times of Adebayo, Saraki said: “When I heard about the event, I said, on behalf of the National Assembly that the celebration of life of this great man cannot be for the South West alone. It should go beyond the South West.

When the unity of this country was threatened, he made it possible for us to remain as one. If not for General Adebayo, where would we be today?

I don’t have the honour to work with him. I knew that the unity and peace of this country was dear to him.”

He, therefore, commended the southwest governors for giving a befitting burial to the Yoruba Council of Elders’ leader, whom he described as one of those who made the unity of Nigeria possible.

He used the medium to charge younger generations who are in leadership position to sustain the legacies of peace and unity which he left behind, just as he condoled with family of the late elder statesman.

Among the eminent personalities in attendance were Governors Abiola Ajimobi of Oyo State, Rauf Aregbesola of Osun State, Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State, Akinwumi Ambode of Lagos State, Chief Bisi Akande (former governor of Osun State), wife of the deceased, Chief Mrs Modupe Adeyinka Adebayo. Governors Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State and Ayodele Fayose of Ekiti were absent but were represented by their deputies Mrs Yetunde Onanuga and Mr. Kolapo Olusola respectively.



Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password