LGA Elections: AYDAN Alerts Nigerians Over Plans To Rig

The attention of the Alimosho Youth Development Association of Nigeria (AYDAN) has been drawn to an act of electoral conspiracy aimed at disenfranchising some eligible candidates and imposed others in the forthcoming Chairmen and Councillors’ elections across the six local council development areas of Alimosho Local Government.

A self-acclaimed political heavyweight of All Progressive Congress, Group of 18, G18, was fingered as orchestrating the conspiracy, and with almost irreversible influence on who emerges or appointed into political offices in the state.

This act is seen as undemocratic, as it clearly violates the nation’s electoral laws and the constitution.

The issue
According to LASIEC and the All Progressive Party’s guidelines, candidates for the posts of chairman and councillors were inform to go and prepare for primaries after obtaining and submitting their intention forms and validating their aspirations. And this should be after they have picked their nominations form on May 13 and 20, 2017.

But the G18 disruptively came up with a sudden announcement that all the candidates, especially those within Alimosho LGA, should go and conduct their primaries on Tuesday, April 25, 2017. This is a clear violation of the LASIEC guidelines.

The move, according to our findings, is a deliberate attempt to perfect their hatchet plans, which involves favouring some candidates over the others.

For instance, the G18, headed by Alhaji Abdulahi Enilolobo, a chieftain of All Progressive Congress, has approved the duo of Kunle Sanyaolu and Jelili Sulaimon as Chairmen for Egbe-Idimu and Alimosho LCDAs. Their names, according to our findings, may have been sent to LASIEC for acknowledgement.

While Sanyaolu, a two-time Vice Chairman of Egbe-Idimu LCDA and the immediate past Executive Secretary of the LCDA, has been favoured, his former contender, Mutiu Adebiyi, popularly known as Aso Ibora has been forced to be his Vice.

Ironically, both candidates are from Egbe. There is no representative from Idimu, which clearly violates electoral structure.

At Ikotun-Igando, no candidates has been anointed by the leaders,as at the time of filling this report.

Here is the list of some of the candidates contesting in Ikotun – Igando LCDA,

Hon. Muftau Wale Okedara,
Hon. Shakiru Alabi Balogun,
Hon. Morenike Williams, immediate past Chairman of the LCDA,
Hon. Wale Azeez (Immediate past Executive secretary)
Adewumi Dada among others.

Ipaja – Ayobo LCDA

The contestant, Shakiru Yussuf (Immediate past chairman of the LCDA), is contesting against the anointed candidacy of Hon Bisi Yussuf, a member of the Lagos State House of Assembly and Hon Agbaje Abiodun (sole administrator of the LCDA).

Alimosho Local Gov’t

Alhaji Enilolobo Abd Rasheed, the State Organizing Secretary Of the ruling party has anointed the immediate past Executive Secretary Jelili Sulaimon against other contestants in the chairmanship race such as Sikiru Esinlokun (Omo OBA Eko), Engineer Abdul Ganiyu Jumah , Gani olatunji Quadri, Akinpelu Johnson and Carlo Tunde Shonupe.

At Agbado Oke-Odo LCDA
The anointed candidate is Famuyiwa Davids. Others shortchanged are Hon Tawakalitu Oyebanji, Afeez Alaran,
Hon abd Wahab Rasheed Ajulo.

In Mosan Okunola LCDA

Olabisi Adebajo, (ABICO) has been anointed as the chairman in Mosan Okunola for the position as against other contestant like Ayo Orimolade and Abiodun Falade,

Councillors favoured in Egbe-idimu
*Rufai Abidemi – Ward A
*Taiwo Dada – Ward B
* Olusode Abedinigo – Ward C

* Lasisi Taiwo – Ward D

* Fatima asiwaju – Ward E

THIS IS A CLEAR CASE OF ELECTORAL FRAUD against the 6 million people of Alimosho. We are, therefore, calling on Nigerians to resist this act of imposition against the will of the people.

In a typical democratic system of government, the power to choose political leaders resides with the populace, not the few self-righteous godfathers.

We therefore call on all progressive minded Nigerians, mostly, the people of Alimosho to raise up against till fraud.

We beckon on Governor Akinwunmi Ambode, the National Leader of APC, Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Governor of Osun, Mr Rauf Aregbeshola and Otunba Henry Ajomale the Party Chairman and other stakeholders in the state politics to help address this injustice.

The above article was jointly signed by Comrade Thanni Kamil, General Secretary and Mr. Bankole Shakirudeen Adeshina, Director of Media


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password