8 APC lawmakers serve Benue State governor impeachment notice

Eight out of 30 lawmakers in Benue State House of Assembly have served an impeachment notice on Governor Samuel Ortom.

The lawmakers are who served the impeachment notice are eight All Progressives Congress (APC) members.

Earlier in the day, police officers had stormed the Assembly Complex denying access to some lawmakers.

The lawmakers denied entry are the 22 lawmakers who impeached the former Speaker, Terkimbi Ikyange.

Spokesperson of the eight lawmakers told journalists on Monday that 16 lawmakers have been suspended for six months while the house has commenced impeachment proceedings against the Governor.

The crisis comes a few days after Governor Ortom defected from the APC to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

It also came days after 22 lawmakers impeached the House Speaker, Terkimbi Ikyange while Titus Mba from the PDP was elected as new Speaker.



Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password